national merit scholarship

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark. -- Three students from the Pulaski County Special School District have been named College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners. Congratulations to Daniel Griffin and Brooke Zermatten from Sylvan Hills High and Annabelle Ridlon from Joe T. Robinson High!

These students will be provided between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Daniel, Annabelle, and Brooke were named as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists last Fall.

An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of recipients to more than 3,800 from across the country.

The National Merit Scholarship Competition is a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance and was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships provided each year are made possible by the support of approximately 340 independent corporate and college sponsors. These sponsors join NMSC in its efforts to enhance educational opportunities for America’s scholastically talented youth and to encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.