governors school

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark. -- Nearly a dozen Pulaski County Special School District students will be attending Governor’s School at Arkansas Tech University this summer.

The following students have been selected for the 2021 Arkansas Governor’s School:

  • Marcos Alvarez - Mills University Studies High - Instrumental Music

  • Christian Carter - Joe T. Robinson High - Natural Science

  • Alyssa Diaz - Maumelle High - Social Science

  • Margaret Groves - Maumelle High - Development Engineering

  • Brianna Hatfield - Mills University Studies High - Mathematics - Waitlist

  • Abigail Henson - Joe T. Robinson High - Mathematics

  • Lucy Jolley - Joe T. Robinson High - Development Engineering

  • Lauryn Lewis - Joe T. Robinson High - Choral Music

  • Elizabeth Smith - Maumelle High - Social Science

  • Eriana Watkins - Mills University Studies High - Natural Science

  • Ja’Aliyah White - Mills University Studies High - Natural Science

“These PCSSD students are going to bring valuable knowledge back to their home school in the Fall,” said superintendent Dr. Charles McNulty. “District and school leaders are so proud of this group and know this program will have a lasting impact on the rest of their lives. We are proud of this group and know they will represent us well at Arkansas Governor’s School.”

The four week summer program is a unique experience for rising Arkansas seniors. The students, selected by a committee named by the State Department of Education, live on the campus of Arkansas Tech University and attend classes in three areas of curriculum. 

About two-thirds of class time is devoted to the student’s selected discipline, which includes choral music, drama, English/language arts, instrumental music, mathematics, natural science, social science, and visual art. Students also work in general conceptual development and personal and social development. 

The 43rd annual Arkansas Governor’s School is scheduled for July 5-August 1, 2022.