PCSSD - Sylvan Hills boasts two National Merit Winners

Sylvan Hills boasts two National Merit Winners

(Sherwood, Ark.) - The Pulaski County Special School District is proud to announce two National Merit Scholarship recipients, both from Sylvan Hills High School. Andrew and Jacob Ponder were selected as finalists back in February as part of the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Andrew and Jacob were among a group more than 3,500 National Merit Scholarship winners financed by U.S. colleges and universities. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. 

These college-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $31 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.

Jacob and Andrew are twin brothers who were among a group of three students from Sylvan Hills High School who were selected as National Merit semifinalists earlier this school year. Kyra Welch, a senior, was the third semifinalist from Sylvan Hills High School.

An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2019 competition to about 4,100. 

2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition

Over 1.6 million juniors in approximately 22,000 high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program when they took the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. Last fall, approximately 16,000 Semifinalists were named on a state-representational basis in numbers proportional to each state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. Semifinalists were the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and represented less than one percent of the nation’s seniors.

NMSC, a not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships provided each year are made possible by the support of approximately 400 independent corporate and college sponsors. These sponsors join NMSC in its efforts to enhance educational opportunities for America’s scholastically talented youth and to encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.

<< Previous Post Next Post >>