PCSSD - The PCSSD Community Advisory Board has been appointed

The PCSSD Community Advisory Board has been appointed


As of December 13, 2016, the Community Advisory Board has been disbanded and replaced by the Board of Education. This page is being maintained for archival purposes only. 

Learn more about the PCSSD Board of Education

On September 9, 2013 the Arkansas State Board of Education approved the appointments of the individuals below to the Community Advisory Board for Pulaski County Special School District. The advisory board is serving in place of an elected board because PCSSD is under state control with a fiscal distress status. The panel’s responsibilities will include recommending action on personnel and student discipline to the education commissioner. Additionally, board members will prepare quarterly reports to the commissioner and state Education Board regarding the progress of the school district toward correcting issues that resulted in the fiscal-distress designation. The appointees, who serve at the pleasure of the state education commissioner, are volunteers nominated by lawmakers, educators, civic leaders and other individuals.

The advisory board meets on the third Monday of each month at 6 p.m. Meetings are open to the public, unless the board is considering a personnel hearing in which the employee has requested it be closed.

View the PCSSD Board Zoning Map Board Meeting Minutes

Zone One: Mike Kemp 


Mike Kemp in front of flags Mike Kemp, a native Arkansan, is in his second term as Mayor of the City of Shannon Hills, in northeast Saline County, which is in the southwest corner of the Pulaski County Special School District. He is also an anchor/reporter for the Arkansas Radio Network, as well as KARN AM 920/102.9 FM. He serves on the Board of Directors for Metroplan and is a member of the Executive Committee for the Arkansas Municipal League. He has more than 30 years of leadership and team building experience. Kemp was assignment editor for KLRT-TV Fox 16 news from 2007 to 2013. Prior to that, he served as Arkansas’ eGovernment Director with the Arkansas Office of Information Technology. Kemp served almost four terms as a member of the Shannon Hills City Council. The national Rural Telecommunications Congress asked him to serve on its board in 2005. He spent three years as an enthusiastic board member, including one year as president and one as secretary. He served two terms as Justice of the Peace for District Two of Saline County. He has extensive knowledge of  ocal and county government. Prior to joining Arkansas state government, he worked in the broadcast industry in Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana and Texas. He also is a former small business owner and real estate entrepreneur.

Kemp graduated high school in Mineral Springs and attended college at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville and Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia. He has been married more than 30 years to his childhood sweetheart, Penny. They have two adult children and four grandchildren.

Zone Two: Mayor McKinzie Riley


After 37 1/2 years of employment with the U.S. Federal Government, McKinzie Riley retired and became the third mayor of the City of Wrightsville. His tenure officially began in October, 2009 when he won the popular vote and took office. He won reelection in October, 2014, and will hold office for another four-year term. Riley graduated from Arkansas' Dermott High school in 1972 and joined the United States Air Force, where he served from January 1974 to August 1978. For the following 15 years he was a member of the USAF reserves unit, retiring in 1995. During that time he found time to graduate from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (1981) with a B.A. in criminal justice. He attended graduate school at Webster University from 1982-83.

Riley has been married to his lovely wife Demeter since January 1985, and they have one daughter, one son, four grandchildren and one great grandchild. He is an active member of Beebe Chapel CME Church and serves as member of the steward board, youth Sunday school teacher and member of the adult choir.

Zone Three: Dr. Linda Remele


Dr. Linda Remele, a retired Pulaski County Special School District educator, received a Bachelor of Science degree from Texas Tech, a Master's degree from the University of Central Arkansas and a doctorate in Educational Leadership from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She was a teacher, counselor, principal, director of elementary education and deputy superintendent during her extensive career at PCSSD. Both her son and her step-son graduated from PCSSD schools, and her two granddaughters currently attend PCSSD schools.

Remele currently is on the board of directors for the Arkansas Retired Teacher Association, is co-president of the North Pulaski Retired Teachers organzation, is co-chairman of the Sherwood Education Foundation and is active in her church. She volunteers two days a week at Sherwood Elementary School, one day a week at Sylvan Hills Middle School and one day a week at the Jacksonville Care Channel.

Zone Four: Shelby Thomas 


Shelby Thomas grew up in the Sherwood area and is a proud graduate of PCSSD. He attended Homer Adkins elementary, North Side Junior High and Jacksonville High School. He has a degree in Electronics Engineering and works for Irby Electrical Distributors as an Energy Specialist covering Arkansas and Northern Louisiana. 

As a Reality Class Pastor, you can find him any given Sunday or Wednesday volunteering his time to minister to and pour into students' lives. He truly believes the next generation will change the world. Shelby also serves on the Board of Directors of First Assembly of God NLR where he has been a faithful member for 20 years.

Shelby volunteers with Sylvan Hills Booster Club where he has served as President the last three years. He also serves as the Secretary for the Sylvan Hills Bears Foundation. 

He and his wife, Leigh, have been married since 1994 and call Sherwood home. They have three children, all of whom attend or have graduated from Sylvan Hills High School.

Zone Five: Lindsey Gustafson


Lindsey Gustafson, an assistant professor of law with the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law, graduated from the PCSSD’s Oak Grove High School. She then attended Brigham Young University, where she received her Bachelor of Arts degree, followed by a Juris Doctorate degree.

She has served in positions with the Boy Scouts of America, as a church youth leader and as a member of the Maumelle High School Curriculum Planning Committee. Any given Tuesday will find Gustafson eating lunch with her children at the same cafeteria tables at which she sat as a Pine Forest Elementary sixth grade student. She is an advocate for public schools and their potential to lift individual children and entire communities, and she is committed to supporting and improving them for her six children, all of whom have been, are, or will soon be students in the PCSSD.

Zone Six: Kenneth Fells


Zone Seven: Brian Maune


Brian Maune, a lifelong resident of Little Rock, is an Area Manager for a specialty chemical company. He received a Bachelor of Chemistry from Arkansas Tech University, followed by a Master of Science in Operations Management from the University of Arkansas.

Maune and his wife, Jennifer, have four children with the oldest child currently attending Chenal Elementary. He is an active member of Fellowship Bible Church where he serves in the children’s ministry, and he serves as President of the Aberdeen Courts Property Owners Association.


Community Advisory Board Meeting Minutes


March 14, 2016 April 11, 2016 April 18, 2016 May 16, 2016 May 26, 2016 June 20, 2016 June 23, 2016 July 18, 2016 September 13, 2016


April 20, 2015 April 27, 2015