PCSSD - Dozen from PCCSD Named to All Arkansas Preps

Dozen from PCCSD Named to All Arkansas Preps

(Little Rock, Ark.) - Eleven student athletes and one coach were selected from each high school within Pulaski County Special School District. This group of 12 will be honored at the upcoming All Arkansas Preps award banquet presented by the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

The banquet celebrates high school athletes and their accomplishments on a state level in 12 different sports in both male and female categories:  football, basketball, baseball, softball, golf, tennis, track, cross-country, wrestling, swimming and soccer. The teams are chosen either by overall tournaments (golf, tennis and track) or by the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette sports department. 

In addition to the 11 student-athletes, one staff member was selected among the All Arkansas Preps group as well. Coach Grover Garrison from Sylvan Hills High School was named as the Track Coach of the Year. The following student-athletes were chosen from PCSSD high schools: 

Sylvan Hills High School

  • Andrew Menke (Senior) - Boys Soccer, First Team
  • Matthew Riley (Junior) -  Boys Soccer, Second Team
  • Aliya Hatton (Senior) - Girls Track Team
  • Mia Heard (Senior) - Girls Track Team
  • Nick Smith (Freshman) - Boys Basketball, Underclassmen Team

Maumelle High School

  • Dregen Smith (Junior) - Wrestling Team

Joe T. Robinson High School

  • Zach Williams (Senior) Football, First Team Defense
  • Zac White (Junior) - Baseball, Second Team
  • Isaias Garcia (Junior) - Boys Soccer, Second Team
  • Christian Greer (Senior) - Boys Tennis Team

Wilbur D. Mills University Studies High School

  • Kevin Cross (Senior) - Boys Basketball, Second Team

The All Arkansas Preps Awards Banquet will take place at the Statehouse Convention Center on Saturday, June 15. Former Arkansas Razorback Hunter Henry will be the keynote speaker. All PCSSD students who were chosen throughout the year are invited to attend the dinner and receive a certificate for their accomplishments. 

Out of each sport, a male and female athlete will be selected to receive the honor of Outstanding Player of the Year. In addition, an Overall Male Athlete, Overall Female Athlete and Coach of the Year will be chosen and honored at the event.


<< Previous Post Next Post >>